au revoir SBR

today is officially the last day that i will ever attend an SBR event as a student. i have attended the End of Year Performance for sixteen years. sixteen memorable years. from all of these performances, i’ve once been a butterfly, a tree, a belly dancer, a talk show host, and many other things that i can’t remember now.

it has been quite a journey, studying at Sekolah Bogor Raya. although i have to admit that there are a lot of things that i may disagree with in regards to the curriculum, the teachers, the methods of teaching–things that, up until this day, i can’t comprehend why they did those things the way they did it… but Sekolah Bogor Raya is a place that, if it doesn’t exist, then i wouldn’t too.

i know that the world is dynamic, and as such, everything is bound to change. but somehow, having spent my entire life in this school, it entitles me to at least say that i wish the school will maintain its excellent performance in instilling values to children. just how Sekolah Bogor Raya has been a home to me, i hope that it can also serve as a home to many other children who are still trying to discover their identity and also their second family–that Sekolah Bogor Raya can further be a place where a child can return to everytime, even when he doesn’t belong elsewhere. it is true that a school in itself is a business, but it will never be able to function properly if constantly viewed in a business perspective. not just anyone can be a founder of a school, and not just anyone can manage it. a good school can only maintain its quality if it maintains its essence, and it can only maintain its essence if someone has the heart to put aside personal qualms and emphasize on value. because in the end, a child will not remember how expensive their tuition is, what alliteration and assonance really mean, or even what their 7th grade science is all about.

what i remember most as a little girl is going into Uncle Doug’s office and reading Joe and the Farm Goose, and Wishing Moon, and Toot Learns to Fly. i remember that my teddy, Wooby, once stayed the night in his office and i remember the little fish desk decoration that can move on its own because of the little ticking wheel it was attached to. it is in that school that i made my first mistakes, and learn how to make it right. it is also there that i had my first crush and also my first heartbreak. it doesn’t matter now that i know leptons and quarks exist. it doesn’t matter that algebraic equations always result in parabolic diagrams… what matters is that i have a librarian as a friend, and the fact that she’s always there for me and my constantly hungry stomach. what matters is that i now know how it felt like to be bullied, do the wrong things, and having to suffer for it, but also at the same time, having learnt from all the things that have passed. what would be most depressing is to find this school, five years from now, being a great big building with thousands of students… and nothing else. just that. an empty shell of a school that once was.

the truth is, i didn’t get a Glee high school experience. i hated how my friends and i had to catch up with all of the jumbled up curriculums we were thrown into, and to be perfectly honest, having only two boys out of a class of fourteen students is rather depressing. but in turn, i met future successful lawyers, anthropologists, doctors, diplomats, writers, designers… made the most wonderful friendships and was taught by the people who inspire me greatly. it has been a pleasure to study in Sekolah Bogor Raya. i would never regret the day my parents found Sekolah Bogor Raya on a newspaper ad. it truly was a day that decided a major course of my life.

x

6 thoughts on “au revoir SBR

  1. Hi, I found your blog when I googled Sekolah Bogor Raya. Very impressive to read. You are a writer by nature. I planned to enroll my 2 years-old son for July 2014 in K1. I hope SBR can be his second home too.
    Wish you all success and joy in your life experience..

    1. Hi !

      First of, I guess I want to thank you for taking the time to read my posts. I’m glad to hear that your son is enrolling in Sekolah Bogor Raya. I remembered it as a wonderful school, and very welcoming too! Of course I experienced all of that as a student, but I wish you could also find Sekolah Bogor Raya pleasant as a parent.

      Thank you for your wishes, and if anything, don’t hesitate to email me personally about your queries.

      Best,
      Victoria.

  2. Hi Victoria, I also found your blog while googling about sbr. My husband and I are planning to move our son there next year. Your blog is awesome. It’s honest and I’m totally drawn to read more and more. If you don’t mind, can you contact me via email? We need some insight about sbr from a student point of view. We want to make sure it’s the perfect school for our son. Thx…

    1. Hi !

      It’s nice to hear that you’re thinking of enrolling your son in SBR. I do have a lot of ups and downs in that school, but after being a second home for me for the first sixteen years of my life, my fondness grew into which I regard the school staffs as my family. Thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to read my blog posts. I would love to reply to any inquiries that you may have about Sekolah Bogor Raya; my e-mail is victoria.rahardjo@gmail.com. I’m powering through finals right now, but I promise that I’ll get back to you as soon as I can.

      Best,
      Victoria.

Leave a Reply

